Cheon Seong Gyeong – Sun Myung Moon


Amaterasu-omikami - The main deity, the Sun Goddess, in Japanese mythology, who is acknowledged as the ancestor of the Japanese people.

Balhae - (698-926) A kingdom founded by Dae Jo-young, a general of the Koguryo dynasty.

Blue House - The presidential residence of the Republic of Korea.

Chosun - A Korean dynasty (1392-1910) founded by Lee Sung-gye.

Chun-hyang - The heroine from Chun-hyang-jeon, one of Korea's classical stories. She risks her life to protect her chastity for the sake of her betrothed.

Chuseok - One of the most important holidays in Korea, celebrated on the fifteenth day of the eighth month by the lunar calendar. On this day the year's harvest of crops and fruits are offered to one's ancestors.

Dangun. Era - The name of the era in Korean history that began in 2333 BC with the coronation of Dangun who founded Ko-chosun.

Dongi people - The name that was used by the Chinese for the tribes that lived in northeast China, Korea and Japan.

Gyeokam-yurok - A representative prophetic book among several existing in Korea. This book is a collection of prophecies made by Nam Sa-go (Gyeokam). Hungnam prison - The labor camp in North Korea where Rev. Moon spent 2 years and 8 months due to religious persecution.

Hong Gil-dong - The hero of "Stories of Hong Gil-dong." The author, Heo Gyun (1569-1618) wrote this novel in an attempt to alleviate the differences between the social classes so as to reform the corrupt politics of his time.

Huh Ho-bin - Founder of the "Inside the Belly" Church who experienced many spiritual phenomena. She believed she would give birth to the returning Lord.

Ito Hirobumi - Japanese Resident-General of Korea from 1905 until his assassination by Korean patriot An Joong-goon in 1909.

Jeong Mong-ju - (1337-1392) A patriot toward the end of the Koryo dynasty who was assassinated for his loyalty to the old Koryo dynasty. He wrote the famous Korean poem entitled Tan shim ga.

Jeonggam-rok - A prophetic book (author unknown), passed down from the beginning of the second half of the Chosun dynasty (1392-1910) which depicts the fate of Korea and its people.

Jeongju - Rev. Sun Myung Moon's birthplace in North Pyungan province in (now) North Korea.

Jochongryeon - An organization of Korean residents in Japan who support North Korea.

Kim Hwal-lan (Helen Kim) - 1899-1970; During her time as President of Ewha Women's University she was personally involved in the expulsion of professors and students who believed in the teachings of the Unification Church.

Kim Il-sung - (1912-1994) The leader of North Korea from 1948 until the time of his death.

Kim Jong-il - Born in 1942, he is the son and successor of Kim II-sung, and currently rules North Korea.

Kim Sat-gat - A wandering poet who lived during the latter period of the Choson dynasty (1392-1910).

Kyungmoo-dae - The name of the former presidential residence of the Republic of Korea.

Lee Sang-hun - (1914-1997) One of the 36 Couples. Former director of the Unification Thought Research Institute. He has sent many messages from the spirit world.

Lee Tae-bek - (701-762) His real name is Lee Bai. A poet during the Tang dynasty (618-907), he is regarded as one of the greatest classical poets in China's history. Meiji - The name of the era in Japanese history in which the emperor ruled from 1867-1912.

Meiji Reformation - (1867-1912) A reformation that brought about political and social change in Japan. The starting point of a centralized unified nation and introduction of capitalism.

Mindan - An organization of Korean residents in Japan who support South Korea. Park Maria - (1906-1960) During her time as the Vice-President of Ewha Women's University (1954) she used her husband's governmental power to persecute the professors and students associating with the Unification Church.

Pyongyang - The capital of North Korea.

Pyung - Korean unit of land measurement. One pyung = 3.3 square meters.

Queen Min - The wife of King Kojong of the Chosun dynasty. She was murdered by Japanese agents in 1895.

Rhee Sung-man (Syngman Rhee) - (1875-1965) The founding President of the Republic of Korea who served three terms, from 1948-1960.

Ri - A Korean unit to measure distance. One ri = 393 meters.

Seodaemun prison - A prison built in Seoul by the Japanese when Korea was under Japanese imperial rule. Many Koreans who fought for independence were imprisoned in this place.

Shilla Dynasty - (57BC-AD676) One of the three ancient dynasties of Korea which later unified three kingdoms, forming the Unified Shilla Dynasty (676-935).

Shim Chung - The heroine of Shim Chung-jeon, one of Korea's classical stories depicting the virtues of filial piety during the Chosun Dynasty (1392-1910). As a daughter of filial piety she offers her life for her father's. She is saved and later becomes queen, and her blind father recovers his sight.

Showa - (1926-1989) Era in Japanese history.

Taisho - (1912-1926) Era in Japanese history.

Three Kingdoms - The period during which three kingdoms existed simultaneously: Shilla Dynasty (57 BC - AD 935), Baekjae Dynasty (18 BC - AD 660), Koguryo Dynasty (37 BC - AD 668).

Won - Unit of currency of the Republic of Korea.

Yi Soon-shin - (1545-1598) A great admiral who played a decisive role in repelling Japanese invaders during the Japanese invasion of Korea that began in 1592 (during the Chosun Dynasty).

Yongmae Island - A small island located south of Haejoo, Hwanghae province, in North Korea.

Yu Kwan-soon - (1904-1920) Patriot during Japanese imperialistic rule. She was an active instigator in the movement for independence that began on March 1, 1919. She was imprisoned and later killed. 

Table of Contents

Tparents Home

Moon Family Page

Unification Library