UPF Tirana, Albania: Albania Celebrates 17 Years of Freedom for Kosovo

Gani Rroshi February 21, 2025 Secretary General, UPF-Albania and the Balkans



Tirana, Albania – It is a tradition for UPF-Albania to organize an event each year to mark the anniversary of Kosovo's independence. Celebrating the 17th anniversary, this year's reception was held on February 21, 2025, in the Alfred Moisiu Hall at the Embassy of Peace in Tirana. UPF was joined by the Albanian Peace Council and the Tirana Peace Council in organizing this conference on the theme "Kosovo – 17 Years of Freedom, Peace and Development."



About 150 personalities participated, including ambassadors for peace and special guests from Kosovo, Montenegro and Northern Macedonia. The well-known journalist and UPF-Albania chairman, **Mr. Defrim Methasani**, was moderator.



Mr. Hydajet Hyseni, MP of the Assembly of Kosovo and member of the Albanian Peace Council, greeted the attendees. The guest of honor, former Albanian **President Bamir Topi**, a vocal advocate of independence for Kosovo, shared a few words about his participation in helping to bring about that historic day.



Professor, historian and former head of the General Directorate of Archives of Albania, **Prof. Dr. Nevila Nika**, gave a comprehensive description of the events leading up to Kosovo's declaration of independence. In his closing speech, **Mr. Ali Lacej**, member of the Albanian Peace Council, gave a brief introduction of UPF's philosophy and principles – concepts which are shared by the Albanian populace in general.

The anniversary of Kosovo's independence is also a celebration for all Albanians. Hence, there were delightful performances that included songs by the artists of the "Highland" Art Society of Prizren and the well-known Albanian singer **Mrs. Valbona Halil**i.

The main attraction of the event was the ceremony presenting the Ambassador for Peace Award to the nominated personalities. The nine candidates, who were specially chosen, are as follows:



Mr. Shkëlqim Hajdari, Prof. Dr. Nevila Nika, and Ms. Valbona Halili from Tirana; Mr. Tahir Gjonbalaj from Plavë; Mr. Haziz Hodaj from Prizren; Mr. Jeton Pustina from Tetovo; Prof. Dr. Hysen Nimani from Peja; Ms. Zemrita Bashkurti from Shkodër and Mr. Jonuz Hallaçi from Kukës.

