## **Pacific Nations Plan for Action in 2016**

Greg Stone December 2, 2015



Sydney, Australia—"Peace, Security and Human Development in Oceania" was the theme of the 2015 UPF-Oceania regional conference.

A total of 53 delegates came from the Pacific Ocean nations of Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Fiji, Samoa, and New Zealand, as well as from Melbourne, Queensland and Sydney in Australia.

The UPF conference, which was held at the Oceania Peace Embassy in Sydney on December 1 and 2, 2015, was jointly organized and supported by Women's Federation for World Peace (WFWP), an affiliated organization.

The four sessions of the conference were:

"Peacebuilding in the Global Village—Multi-faith, Multi-disciplinary Peace Councils in Oceania," chaired by UPF-Australia Vice President John Bellavance. This session was concerned with the formation of Peace Councils at the state, national and regional levels.

"Values Education—Human Development in Fiji," chaired jointly by values education authority Ms. Irene Anania and Santosh Neupane, the president of the Fiji chapters of UPF and Family Federation for World Peace and Unification (FFWPU), an affiliated organization. This session discussed values education with a particular focus on the Fiji government's invitation for UPF to introduce values education to Fiji secondary-school teachers.

"New Village Movement—Human Development in Oceania," chaired by Rev. Jong Deug Yoo, regional chair of UPF-Oceania, who gave a presentation about the New Village Movement and its programs in Vanuatu.

"Security and Human Development in Kiribati and Tuvalu—How Can We Help?" This session, which dealt with the impact of climate change on low-lying atoll nations such as Kiribati and Tuvalu, was chaired by Rev. Suamalie Iosefa Naisali, a Tuvalu Christian minister and president of the Pacific Island Climate Change Action Forum in New Zealand.

After Oceania Regional Chair Rev. Jong Deug Yoo warmly welcomed the delegates, Regional Secretary General Greg Stone gave an introduction to UPF and an overview of the conference themes.

A conference backgrounder was prepared for each session, with a list of proposed committee members who would be the main discussants in the session. Others would be observers but could contribute comments and ask questions at the end of the session.

Each session began with a presentation and was arranged to allow for a roundtable discussion so that participants could ask questions and put forward their own comments. Through this interactive format, it was hoped that participants would feel more ownership and would be able to work together to form follow-up action committees in each area.

The sessions did indeed stimulate a lot of interaction and discussion. At the end of each session there was a call for volunteers who would like to participate in the follow-up committee about the session topic. These groups were photographed and/or the names were recorded.

At the end of the two days, participants wrote very positive reflections, indicating that they were inspired by the conference topics and wished to support the ongoing projects stemming from the conference content.

The following delegates were awarded certificates of Ambassador for Peace during the conference: Ms. Negin Mansoury, Mr. Timoci Bure, Ms. Louisa Apelu and Ms. Stephanie Mailesi.

## Conference Attendees:

Rev. Jong Deug Yoo Mrs. Yoo Mr. Greg Stone Mrs. Reiko Stone Rev. Soon Teck Lim Mrs. Rika Lim Ms. Aila Willitts Ms. Jynene Helland Mr. Logessan Pillay Ms. Ruth Osen Dr. Wali Islam

Venerable Thich Minh Tam Dr. Mimmie Ngum Chi

Watts

Dr. Herman Roborgh Ms. Negin Mansoury Mr. Bill Pontikis

Dr. Apollo Nsubuga-Kyobe

Dr. Imran Syed

Ms. Mary Mahloko-Boardmans Mr. Jean Bellavance Ms. Anne Bellavance Dr. Jacinta Moreau Ms. Irene Anania Ms. Ye Young Babb Mr. Adeniyi Ekine Mr. Surendra Prasad OAM Ms. Sharon Orapeleng Mr. Robert Josifoski Mrs. Mamiko Rattley Mrs. Sara Folasa-Tuioti Mr. Folasa-Tuioti Dr. Brian Adams Dame Jane Seccombe Rev. Suamalie Iosefa Naisali

Mr. Julius Gicole Dr. Sahu Khan Mr. Santosh Neupane
Mrs. Ronzelle Lozano
Mr. Timoci Bure
Mr. Wasu Deo
Mrs. Romila Deo
Mr. Seti Suafa
Ms. Louisa Apelu
Rev. Dae Yeon Goo
Mr. Peter C. Tome
Mr. Luke Sisi Cheka
Ms. Selina Boso
Ms. Stephanie Mailesi
Dr. Chit Swe
Mrs. Chit Swe
Pastor Valinga Tonga

Mrs. Chit Swe
Mrs. Chit Swe
Pastor Va'inga Tonga
Mr. Jon Soemarjono
Mr. Mark Burfield

